Today, Google announced Trusted Contacts, an app for you and your family, friends to use for locating each other. The app works by both people adding each other as a trusted contact. From there, either person can see where the other person is located. There are plenty of situations that this app can be used in — Google even presented a few for us. I can see this app being especially useful when concerned friends or relatives are worried about you driving home late at night, or you walking back to your apartment after a long day in the office. You can simply share your location with those concerned people, so they have peace of mind as to your location.
Read more about how the app works:
Once you install the Android app, you can assign “trusted” status to your closest friends and family. Your trusted contacts will be able to see your activity status — whether you’ve moved around recently and are online — to quickly know if you’re OK. If you find yourself in a situation where you feel unsafe, you can share your actual location with your trusted contacts. And if your trusted contacts are really worried about you, they can request to see your location. If everything’s fine, you can deny the request. But if you’re unable to respond within a reasonable timeframe, your location is shared automatically and your loved ones can determine the best way to help you out. Of course, you can stop sharing your location or change your trusted contacts whenever you want.
Whether you just need a little reassurance or you’re actually in an emergency, Trusted Contacts helps connect you with the people you care about most — at the times you need them most.
This is a great addition to the Google family of apps. There have been other 3rd party apps like this before, but users might have a harder time granting location permission to 3rd party apps. On the other hand, most users have granted Google permission to access their location, so this is not much different.
Curious to check this app out? Download link is below!